Fall cottage essentials

Even though the days can be sunny and beautiful (we were actually water skiing last year on Thanksgiving weekend), the nights can be downright chilly during fall cottage season. This is one of my favourite months at the cottage when the leaves are turning, the nights are so cool that you need a fire in the fireplace, and the corn mazes are open in Prince Edward County.

Here are some things that you will need in September and October at your cottage that will make you happy and/or warm.

#1 UGGS

I don’t care what anyone says, I love Uggs and I think they are soooo stylish. You might think they are ugly, but they are some of my most favourite footwear.  Sometimes I want to sleep in them.  I have a dark brown, tall pair that my husband bought for me about 5 years ago.  I had them dry cleaned last year and they came out looking gorgeous. I am thinking about getting another pair because I love them so much. Maybe grey this time. I wear them in the winter, on the coldest of Toronto winter days, with bare feet and I am always warm and toasty.

I love my Uggs.
uggs

#2 COZY BLANKETS

This is the one thing that you can never have enough of. The old, wool blankets that have been around the cottage for decades are the best.  They are so warm and classic.

Orange blanket from Canadian Etsy shop Blankets & Cie, grey blanket from Pottery Barn, striped blanket from HBC

Orange blanket from Canadian Etsy shop Blankets & Cie, grey blanket from Pottery Barn, striped blanket from HBC

#3 SWEATERS

Sweater weather has arrived! Does anyone remember these big bulky wool sweaters from the 1990’s?  They sold them in stores called Balta or Ola at Upper Canada Mall among other places.  I think you can get them on Etsy now. I had a couple in grade 9 or 10, packed them away and now wear them at the cottage in the fall.  They are perfect for cottaging because they are over sized and you can put layers of fleece and hoodies underneath.
bulky sweaters#4 WORK GLOVES

If you’re going to be closing your cottage for the winter in the coming weeks, you will need a good pair of gloves for working…weeding the garden, taking out the dock, sweeping out the fire pit.

"everything gloves" from Williams Sonoma

“everything gloves” from Williams Sonoma

#5 MOUSE TRAPS

Inevitably, at this time of year at the cottage, there are mice. I am terrified of mice.  I know it is ridiculous but I actually feel almost paralyzed when I see one. Last weekend at the cottage, we were preparing a meal for the kids and after I took it out of the oven and sat it on top of the stove, a mouse ran right across the middle of it. As I stood on top of the island in the kitchen shreeking, my two and four year old stared at me with wide-eyes. I said to them in a very calm voice “uh, no need to be afraid of mice guys…they really are more scared of us”.  Who am I kidding??  Mouse traps are a definite must. Eek.

eek

Happy cottaging!!

Leave a Reply

