Back to School

Yesterday was the first day of SK for my little guy.  For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been telling him about school and preparing him for the change ahead. He seemed excited and even thrilled to go back…

photo (1)

But as we approached the classroom door, I could feel the grip on my hand getting tighter and tighter. He looked up at me and said “I want to go to art camp today”.  As I stood to the side watching, the teacher peeled him away from my husband as he yelled “I don’t wanna go!”  He came home from school and seemed happy, but did tell me that he wouldn’t be returning to school the following day.

The following day (today), the same thing happened – lots and lots of crying at the door. I went in for a big hug and a kiss, said “bye bye, I love you” and walked straight to work. Once he could no longer see me, I looked back and I could see that his tears were gone and he was chatting up his friends on the playground, having a nice time.  The show was all for me.

We went through this for about a month last year at the beginning of JK.  It really upset me, but I learned that it’s like ripping off a band-aid – lots of hugs and kisses on the first few days, but after that, you have to do the “drop and run”.

Who can really blame him though?  If I were 4 and just came off two months of sleeping in, swimming, ice cream, tennis camp, art camp, boat rides, tube rides, cousin sleepovers, 2 visits from the Tooth Fairy, cottage, cottage and more cottage, I would not want that to end either. What a summer!

To all those returning to school this week and to those just beginning – our niece as she enters her first year of university, our nephew Eason as he starts JK, my friend Sarah who began her Masters of Teaching, and to all my teacher friends – happy school year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

